Time Flies When Your Becoming Veg!

It’s been a bit since my last post but I can explain!  This blog’s orginal purpose was to chronicle my journey into the world of clean eating.  On my way to clean, I discovered I actually wanted to be vegetarian.  There have been several times in my life when I had said, “I wish I liked veggies more so I could become a vegetarian but I’m a meat eater through and through!”  For some reason, with 40 fast approaching, becoming veg really hasn’t been difficult at all.

I have eaten so many veggies that I swore I would never touch…mushrooms (see my mushroom soup post), tomatoes (as long as they’re roma/plum, I put them on everything!) and even eggplant.  I made a summer ratatouille with fresh picked eggplant, squash, etc. that was absolutely fabulous!

I can’t even begin to describe how good I feel (except for this wonderful cold my 6 yr old brought home and shared with myself and my 9 month old)!  I have lost 10 lbs. in 2.5/3 weeks…without even trying.  I eat 6 times throughout the day so hunger is no issue.  Due to the loss of my gallbladder (medical mistake) over 3 years ago, I have a history of horrible attacks of bile salt diarrhea.  These attacks can be absolutely debilitating, leaving me lying on the floor of my bathroom writhing in pain.  It made being able to go out to dinner with family or friends almost impossible.  I have had no such attacks since beginning my veg journey.  My system has made adjustments, yes, but nothing like the attacks I would have.  It’s nice to be able to go out and enjoy a meal without fear of having to make a mad dash back home.

I haven’t done this alone and I owe a lot of thanks to many websites, bloggers and tweets from various people and organizations that have helped me in this learning process.  For anyone who is looking for support while becoming veg/vegan, I highly recommend visiting the Happy Herbivore.  The recipes are easy but fabulous and Lindsay makes learning fun!  This is my number one source for recipes and newbie information.  I have even taken an HH e-course and am excited to take more.

I love that all I have to do is turn on my computer and the world of vegetarianism is right there for me to explore!

Leave a Reply

