Fell off the wagon…hard!

Picture of an authentic Neapolitan Pizza Margh...

Image via Wikipedia

Last night I wanted to make a nice Marguerite Pizza in an attempt to get over my repulsion of tomatoes.  All day I had thought about the Whole Wheat Dough, the organic sauce, the big chunks of fresh mozzarella and very thin slices of tomato.  Upon arriving home and discussing dinner with my husband, he decided he had to have meat. I had deprived him enough and he demanded meat on his pizza! After some consideration, I decided that I needed to compromise with him so that he would continue to eat the mostly vegetarian meals that I had been preparing lately.  Off I go to the store!

As I am walking through the store trying to find all the organic and “good for me” ingredients I can, I decide that I will brown up some sausage for hubby’s pizza. That was my downfall!  Having been a serious, devoted meat-eater for 39 years, I just could not handle the smell of that sausage.  Now mind you, I did partake at the family clam boil this weekend also. So, in my first two weeks of trying to eat more veggie, I have slipped twice with major guilt after.  It seems once the yumminess and feeling of comfort recedes, I am left with guilt!

Do carnivore converts fall off the wagon on their way to vegetarianism?  Do they stumble on their way to all things healthy? I don’t know about others but I certainly did.

Leave a Reply

